Apparently I need to introduce myself.

So I thought I’d do Bandits: The Legend of Fei (有匪).

Because I love Wang Yibo, and I love Zhao Liying, and I love the novel (yes, in that order) – and I had such high hopes for the tv adaptation but was so effing frustrated with it. The best way to vent? Translate the heck out of the original novel. Here goes nothing. If all goes well, I might do others. Probably wuxia (武侠, i.e. martial arts) since it’s my favourite genre. (Louis Cha’s Smiling, Proud Wanderer remains one of my all-time favourites. And also another one of those novels which I feel the many tv adaptations don’t do justice to.)

Picture from the Shennong Mountains in Shennongjia, Hubei, for good measure (from my trip in October 2020). Feels very wuxia-y, doesn’t it?

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started